I miss you

Now when I say ‘I miss you’ a lot of people spring to mind.

  • There is my BFF Emily who has gone to America and is studying Drama there
  • There is my granddad who has been gone almost a year now
  • There is my old mentor who practically pushed me through 7 years of school
  • There is my old ICT teacher who inspired me to pursue a career in ICT

It is upsetting, I guess, how we end up accumulating these ‘I miss yous’ like old greeting cards and you know that you just can’t get rid of them, so you just to fill the void that these people have left in your life. They might not have meant to do it, but because of reasons such as death, school and getting older, you’ve had to leave them behind and move on with your life. So now I have had to get a new BFF who is in my class and he’s great, but he’s not Emily and no one can fully replace her.
I have had to get a new mentor because of my dyspraxia and she’s great, she reminds me a lot of my old mentor and she talks to me, but she’s not the same, she doesn’t do all the things my old mentor did with me. She cares more about my education and not about me.
Then there is my ICT teacher and he was great, but I’ve had to leave him behind as I grew up and I have an teacher who reminds me a lot of him and I get on great with him, but still, there is no way that none of these people can replace the ones that I have lost.

Now my granddad, he can’t be replaced. I’ve tried. I have tried to get a new favourite grandparent and to fill the void, but I just can’t. He was it and he always will be. My grandfather was the only grandfather I had left and no matter how my grandmothers I adopt, it’s just not the same.

It’s funny how we can replace some people almost fully, but still hold on to a part of them as we go on like with my old mentor, I still email her and talk to her, but I try to establish a relationship with my new one and with my ICT teacher, I’ll forever be thankful, but my new teacher has helped to replace him quite well and he actually asks me about things. And with my best friend, she’ll always be a big part of my life, but my new best friend is one of the best things to happen to me since I have been at uni, but then there are people that we can’t replace at all. Normally it is loved ones. The ones who leave a mark on us. I see a lot of my grandfather in my mother and that makes me happy because then he’s still here. He’s still with me through me and through my mother. Just looking at her makes me remember him.

So here are two songs which I think some up how I am feeling.

So I miss you is all I can say because there are a lot of people I miss and I’m sure that is the same for you. So next time you sigh and say ‘I miss you’ think back to all who you miss because I am sure there is more than one person who you miss.

About oddchildout

18 and at University. Good with computers, well I have to be when I work with them and getting a degree in them, I guess. I live at home with my parents and two sisters. Not much really, but I am the Oddchildout.
This entry was posted in Dealing, Life in general and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I miss you

  1. Pingback: 50 weeks already? | Keep Being Strong

Leave a Reply

