What is a friend?

Will someone please tell me what a close friend or even what a true friend is because at this moment in my life, I don’t even think I know what it is.

I don’t even know what i would classify as a good friend or a close friend nowadays. I always thought that a good friend was someone who would keep promises, talk to you everyday or so, always be there for you when you needed them…etc. well someone should have told me when I was younger that I was bloody kidding myself.

I really should have listened to my mother. She said that we come into this world on our own and we leave the same way. She told me that the only people you need in your life are your partner and your kids, but me being me, the stupid trusting idiot that I am, I thought no! friends will be different and they will be better than family, was I ever bloody wrong!

Whatever happened to keeping promises and following through on things? Why can’t I ever get a friend that does that? I think I can only say that one of my friends has ever been trusting enough, but the rest? They would drop me at the drop of a hat for either their ‘best friends’ who they have known for less time than they have known me or for their boyfriends. Do they really think that I am going to be here for them forever? Not if they keep f**king treating me like this.

Even my best friend at uni, he keeps as many promises as he can, but I am always getting bumped off for something else or someone else when I am the one that is trying to help him with school work!!

Is it just me that has a delusional idea that when a friend says they are going to do something or that they have promised something that they bloody do it, not end up brushing you over for someone else. I mean I am not totally selfish, I understand when it is for something important or something terrible has happened that you know and understand why they can’t do it, but to pass you over a day before you were meant to do the thing with them, doesn’t give you a lot of time to make other plans, does it?

Do people really think that you are going to keep any friends if you keep passing them over for some guy or some thing else that you think is more important than them? I’m sorry, but that’s not going to get you any friends and your not even going to be able to keep the ones that you have. In other words, say hello to lonersville – population you!

Once, just once, I would like to find a friend that is going to be there for you if you want them to. I would like a friend who is going to keep promises and i would like a friend who isn’t going to let me feel like I am being pushed over all the time. I took it from my old best friend, I am not going to take it anymore. So if all of a sudden I am not talking to you, taking forever to reply to you or just ignoring you when it comes to wishing people happy birthday/Christmas/new year then you know why.

They say you can’t pick your family, but you can pick your friends then why do I always pick the ones that are never there for me? That isn’t much different from my bloody family.

So seriously, what is a friend? What is a decent friend? I feel like I really don’t have one at the moment. I am sick of having my feelings hurt and being let down. I don’t want to keep putting myself out there just to be hurt again. it really isn’t worth it.

I could blame my Zodiac sign (Look at my last post), it says i am too trusting, so maybe I should just close up my heart and shut up ranks. Put up a sign that says ‘WANT A FRIEND? AIN’T GONNA FIND ONE IN ME! GOODBYE’

I can see why my mother doesn’t want/have a lot of friends cos she doesn’t want to get hurt and now i can understand what she is talking about. Why do i keep setting myself up to get hurt? I also blame Facebook because those ‘friends’ you have on there, they ain’t your friends they are just people who you went to school with who want to check up on you to see if your life is shitter than there’s so that they can pass judgement – not a friend.

SO SOMEONE PLEASE, ANSWER MY QUESTION, WHAT IS A FRIEND?

Because according to theurbandictionary.com it is:

A friend is someone you love and who loves you, someone you respect and who respects you, someone whom you trust and who trusts you. A friend is honest and makes you want to be honest, too. A friend is loyal.

A friend is someone who is happy to spend time with you doing absolutely nothing at all; someone who doesn’t mind driving you on stupid errands, who will get up at midnight just because you want to go on an adventure, and who doesn’t have to talk to communicate with you.

A friend is someone who not only doesn’t care if you’re ugly or boring, but doesn’t even think about it; someone who forgives you no matter what you do, and someone who tries to help you even when they don’t know how. A friend is someone who tells you if you’re being stupid, but who doesn’t make you feel stupid.

A friend is someone who would sacrifice their life and happiness for you. A friend is someone who will come with you when you have to do boring things like watch bad recitals, go to stuffy parties, or wait in boring lobbies. You don’t even think about who’s talking or who’s listening in a conversation with a friend.

A friend is someone for whom you’re willing to change your opinions. A friend is someone you look forward to seeing and who looks forward to seeing you: someone you like so much, it doesn’t matter if you share interests or traits. A friend is someone you like so much, you start to like the things they like.

A friend is a partner, not a leader or a follower.

The word “friend” comes from Old English “frēond”, which is actually the present participle of “frēogan”, which means “to love” and “to honor”.

really? because at the moment I don’t feel like I have one of them.

 

About oddchildout

18 and at University. Good with computers, well I have to be when I work with them and getting a degree in them, I guess. I live at home with my parents and two sisters. Not much really, but I am the Oddchildout.
This entry was posted in Life in general and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What is a friend?

  1. Linh Cullen says:

    Well. 😀 maybe we need not to define the word “friend” that clearly, you know, all the stuff on urbandictionary. I know when I was angry with a friend, I doubted him. But don’t ever doubt friendship, dont lose faith on friends. It’s the worst thing you can think of. We all need friends. We are not born to be a lonely creature, which would be such a waste of time. 🙂 Do you ever think that maybe, just maybe, friends keep letting you down just because you are requiring too much from them? We are all humans after all. We are selfish sometimes. we are cruel sometimes. We might not be there for someone when they need us. And they might doubt us sometimes as well. What is a friend? I don’t wanna define it. I make friends with anyone I enjoy sharing my time with, enjoy talking to, not because I know they would be there for me when I need them. I care about them and I know somehow they care about me too, more or less. Keep it simple. True friends learn to forgive. Forgive them and they’ll forgive you times when you are not there for them the moment they need you most. truly hope you’ll find out who are your true friends soon. 😀

  2. Pingback: Follow Your Heart!!! « The Velvet Closet of a Lesbian

Leave a Reply

