Older and older

As I get closer and closer to the end of my first semester as university, I have come to realise that I have matured quite quickly in the past two months and it scares me how quickly time seems to have just passed me by. It seems only yesterday that I was cueing up for registration during the middle of September and now I am edging my way closer and closer to the middle of December, which not only means Christmas break (yay!!!) but it also means that I have survived through the first semester of university without many ‘battle scars’. I’m still standing and I feel as if I have come out of this better than I thought I would. I know that it is WAY too soon to tell if I have even passed this semester, but I feel confident that with a little more studying and a bit more hard work, I can make it through these last two weeks before the end of this semester.

I feel as if I have made a huge leap in who I am as a person as I feel older and I feel more comfortable in my own skin. I know that confidence has always been a key issue in my life, but when it comes to my schooling and my studies, I am always confident because it is an area that I know so well. I actually like computers and I admit, there are a few people who would think I am nuts for finding a book about how technology has helped the distribution industry so much that what was once classed as hits are now not because through technology we are able to buy non-hits making areas of the industry look like they are giving away things for ‘free’ when really they sell it so close to 0 that it gives us the illusion that it is free when really it is not. It is all in our heads because nothing is truly for free, there is always something in the end that makes us pay for things.

I know no that many of you are sitting thinking ‘oh my god, that was so boring’ and others maybe thinking that I have truly and finally found my passion in life. I guess it is good to find your passion in life. I didn’t realise until I was in year 13 (senior year) that computers were for me and even then my mind was clouded. In a way, I envy my sister for that, she found her true passion and area quite young. It took me 18 years.

As I get older and older, I realise that although a few things have changed about myself, a lot hasn’t. I still care about my friends a lot and I go out of my way to help them, but I am also a lot stronger in myself. All my other fears and worries that I had at the beginning of this semester have all just disappeared. I have realised that sometimes in life you have grab the metaphorical bull by the horns and just go for it with life. Fate is fate and there is nothing you can really do about what happens, but it is how you perceive it that can really make you think about life. If you always see the bad in things then you will forever have a negative outlook on life, but if you shrug off the bad and remember that in life there is always a balance, so with the bad soon the good will come.

So as you get older and realise that things start to change, take a look at life and notice the changes that you have gone through. See the good with the bad, but see how much much stronger you have gotten and how much more confident you have gotten because like that Kelly Clarkson song says ‘What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger’ and I find that to be very true.

If you can make it through the hardest thing, at least what you think is the hardest thing, then trust in yourself that you will be able to make it through anything.

About oddchildout

18 and at University. Good with computers, well I have to be when I work with them and getting a degree in them, I guess. I live at home with my parents and two sisters. Not much really, but I am the Oddchildout.
This entry was posted in Life in general and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Older and older

  1. Pingback: End of another month | Keep Being Strong

Leave a Reply

