Always someone out there…

I am sure some of you have heard of the expression that everyone has a twin out there. Now when I was younger, I thought that was a literal thing, but I have come to realise that what it actually means is that there is always someone out there who is just like you or has a lot of similarities to you and that means that you could discuss a lot of things that you both are going through.

I have recently found that there is someone who my mother works with who is around my age, also with Dyspraxia, which is my Special Needs and I will talk about that some time soon, but it wasn’t the dyspraxia thing that made me think about that old saying today, it was that this girl also had depression, which is what I am suffering from and it was also the fact that we have lost grandparents. My mother said that this girl had taken a lot of knocks this year and that she reminded her of me.

Some people may not be lucky enough to have a physical manifestation of their twin, but there could be someone out there or actually many people that are going through something like you or similar to you. I believe that it helps for you to have someone to talk to who has been through what you have or is going through something like you. It helps to have someone like you around so that you can go through the problems together.

I think it would be best to have someone like you and not a therapist. I have had a therapist before and although they are good to talk to and vent to, they don’t fully understand what you are going through. I have to admit that having someone around who is going through what you are going at the same time helps you to understand that you are not alone and that you are not the only person going through all these problems. It brings you down to Earth for a moment and I think it is a good thing.

So go out and find your ‘twin’.

About oddchildout

18 and at University. Good with computers, well I have to be when I work with them and getting a degree in them, I guess. I live at home with my parents and two sisters. Not much really, but I am the Oddchildout.
This entry was posted in Dealing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Always someone out there…

  1. Pingback: Dyspraxia | Keep Being Strong

  2. baju bayi says:

    Wow, awesome blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is great, as well as the content!. Thanks For Your article about Always someone out there… | Keep Being Strong .

Leave a Reply

