Back to uni

About now is when everyone realizes how much their life sucks cause we have to go back to school tomorrow..

Well that tomorrow is actually today and actually it is right now because currently I am sitting in the library, waiting for my next class to hurry up and come. I am also waiting for my friend’s class to hurry up and finish.

As I lay in bed last night, after being out from 5 – half 10, I realised how much I didn’t want to go back to uni after the week I have had off. I mean, come on, seriously, who in their right mind wants to go back to waking up in the early hours of the morning to make sure that they catch the right bus at the right time to make sure that they make it to the right class. It all seems a little tedious and exhausting to me. It is times like these when I wish I could drive, but then I’d just moan that I wished my parents would let me drive the car.

Looking back on the last week, I wish I had gotten more sleep. Although I am no longer working because the demands of my course have gotten to a point that I am constantly doing some sort of assignment, I am still so tired. That might have something to do with the fact that I have to get up at half 6 to get into school for 8:45. In a way, I have learnt to sleep on the bus and I know sometimes that can be dangerous, but catching a few zzzs here and there can’t hurt.

I used to love Tuesdays and I hated Mondays. They are always the bane of everyone’s life, aren’t they? Mondays are the type of day that you either love or hate like Marmite, there is no in-between. Now I hate Tuesdays because I am in uni from 9 – 5 which means I am up at half 6 and not home till half 6 at the earliest, but my consolation prize is the fact that I get a 3 day weekend all the time as I have Mondays off.

Being back at uni would be fine, if they taught me something new. Today I spent 2 hours in my lecture hall learning about post-modernism and organisation hierarchy, which I learnt last year in media studies and ICT. I never thought that I would see the day that Media actually tied in with my ICT work, but hello technology and change. So, so far today has seemed pretty pointless, but I guess I have learnt something new. I have learnt that it doesn’t matter which classes you take at A level, in someway they always connect.
Today, all three of my past A levels connected. He talked about post-modernism (Media), organisation hierarchy (ICT) and Karl Marx (History). I suddenly felt like nothing had changed in a year.

When did life become so difficult? Why can’t I go back to a time when boys I only think of as friends didn’t like me? Or a time when I could go to a party without ending up making out with a guy? Or to a time when school seemed like a thing that was interesting? No, we can’t because we are ADULTS and we have to learn to grow up and explore the world. We have to learn that things get harder with age and that yes, sometimes we really curse the days when we have early starts, especially when it is so cold outside that you can’t feel your toes, but that’s life I guess and after 3 years in this place, scrapping and passing exams to get that degree, I will walk out of here with £26,000 worth of debt and a degree. All in the name of my future.

You have got to love the government (Sarcasm)! Maybe I’m just ratty because I need more sleep, but sometimes it is good to rant and that is what you need to do sometimes. Rant. Rant to yourself or rant to someone who will listen because it helps get the weight off of your shoulders to let it all out. Trust me.

My idea of a good morning is one when I open my eyes, take a deep breath, then go back to sleep

 

About oddchildout

18 and at University. Good with computers, well I have to be when I work with them and getting a degree in them, I guess. I live at home with my parents and two sisters. Not much really, but I am the Oddchildout.
This entry was posted in School and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back to uni

  1. baju bayi says:

    Wow, marvelous blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is wonderful, as well as the content!. Thanks For Your article about Back to uni | Keep Being Strong .

  2. Thanks like your Back to uni | Keep Being Strong

  3. Thanks like your Back to uni | Keep Being Strong

Leave a Reply

