Everyone has down days

Take a deep breath. It’s only a bad day, not a bad life…

My friend has had one of the worst weeks ever and feels like giving up on his degree, but it is just a bad week. I know that falling behind and realising that there is a lot to deal with when it comes to school/university, but stress is a normal aspect of life. It is something that we all have to deal with.

When stress first manifested itself in my life, I was 16 and it was exam season. Now some of you are sitting there thinking, I remember that and other’s are thinking, I am still going through that. I had never really been subject to such life altering tests before. Yes, I’d had year 6 and 9 SATs (That must tell you how old I am), but nothing that would help to shape the outcome of my life.
Stress was something that hit me physically as well as mentally. It would make me physically sick and I barely ate anything for 3 weeks. I always knew when my body was worrying about exam season because my heart rate would increase, I’d break out in spots and I’d barely eat.

Stress is something that has plagued my life all the time, but now that I am in University and I have made it, it doesn’t seem to get to me so much. My parents through that I would go into a catatonic state when I got a job to add to my list of things to do, but I am actually ok with everything right now. I guess it could be the antidepressants that I have been on for just over a month, but not a lot of things get to me anymore.

For example: I was sick last sunday and didn’t go to work, which meant that I didn’t know when my next working days were and instead of freaking out about it. I calmly e-mailed my boss and asked. I figured I’d have to start at 11 as before, but it was just to be sure.

I guess the key to pure de-stressing your life is to look at things differently. Instead of looking at everything as a task that I would rather procrastinate and put off, I now look at it as a job that I do, get out-of-the-way and then I am able to enjoy my time with my friends. Yes, I am having to pencil things in more now-a-days, but I am able to manage my life more now.

But we all know how it feels when you have a bad week, we all know how it feels when you have a bad day and things just keep on piling up to the point that you think you are going to burst from all the pain, stress and worry that is rushing through your body, but then there are people who are there to help you. Friends, family…someone is always around to help you and make you see that you are not alone, that in fact there are people who care.

We are never alone. I am going to be there to help to pick my friend up and I am going to be there to help to make sure that he gets better and is back to being his old self. because when I felt down and sad about losing my best friend, he was there telling me that I would be ok and that I will be fine. We all need someone to pick us up. One bad week does not make a bad year. I just wish I had seen that earlier.

Don’t make a bad day make you feel like you have a bad life.

About oddchildout

18 and at University. Good with computers, well I have to be when I work with them and getting a degree in them, I guess. I live at home with my parents and two sisters. Not much really, but I am the Oddchildout.
This entry was posted in Dealing, Life in general and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Everyone has down days

  1. baju bayi says:

    Wow, wonderful blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is magnificent, let alone the content!. Thanks For Your article about Everyone has down days | Keep Being Strong .

  2. Thanks like your Everyone has down days | Keep Being Strong

  3. Thanks like your Everyone has down days | Keep Being Strong

Leave a Reply

