I am not an object…

Being unwanted, unloved, uncared for, forgotten by everybody, I think that is a much greater hunger, a much greater poverty than the person who has nothing to eat.

I don’t mind helping people and I like to feel like I am needed…wanted, but I will not be used to help someone and then put aside until needed again. I have enough on my plate and I have enough to deal with when it comes to my own degree and life.

Helping people has always been something that I pride myself on doing and I will help them to a point, but I will not be used to do someone else’s work and I will not let them take all the credit. People need to stand on their own two feet and they need to learn to sink or swim by themselves. Helping each other is fine, giving each other the direction in which they need to go, but to actually be used for what you are good for and then thrown away till you are needed again, is not right.

So I am here today, to yell, scream and shout that I don’t want to be used for my brains. I want a friendship and not a client. You can only help people to a certain point before you have to say stop and focus on you.

I guess if I could have one wish when it comes to my life right now, I wish people were better at using their phones, that they would answer my messages and phone calls.

Friendship is a two way street and someone can’t keep pushing when no one is pulling on the other side. I am sick of pushing when no one is there to pull me to them. So I am NOT an object. I am a PERSON and I deserve to be treated as such. I don’t want ‘I O Us’ or free things. I want a mutual friendship and one where people talk to me.

It is times like these that the true colours of people really shine and they make you realise that some people are really not worth the hassle, trouble or aggrivation.

Focus on yourself and on what you are going through before helping other people who won’t treat you with the same respect that you deserve because remember to say to yourself that ‘you deserve better’.

Friends can help each other. A true friend is someone who lets you have total freedom to be yourself – and especially to feel. Or, not feel. Whatever you happen to be feeling at the moment is fine with them. That’s what real love amounts to – letting a person be what he really is.

 

About oddchildout

18 and at University. Good with computers, well I have to be when I work with them and getting a degree in them, I guess. I live at home with my parents and two sisters. Not much really, but I am the Oddchildout.
This entry was posted in School and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I am not an object…

  1. Pingback: Friendship Defined | aurora morealist

  2. baju bayi says:

    Wow, marvelous blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is excellent, let alone the content!. Thanks For Your article about I am not an object… | Keep Being Strong .

  3. Thanks like your I am not an object… | Keep Being Strong

Leave a Reply

