Am I just mature beyond my years?

Ok, now this is a genuine question because maybe I’m old-fashioned or it could be that I was brought up by parents who installed the right things into me, but am I just mature beyond my years? I sometimes feel like I am a really old soul in a young body. Let me tell you why I had this sudden thought come into my head.

I was on Facebook (Time wasting, I know) and I saw this picture that an old friend of mine had put on his wall and shared with his girlfriend. It was an ultrasound picture and I was a little concerned as the baby looked about 12 – 14 weeks and his girlfriend turned 16 in July. You do the math…
Anyway, thinking this was a prank I left it and went to university. I came home about 40 minutes ago and went back on Facebook (I know, sad). That was when I saw that this was in fact real and that she was 12 weeks pregnant. Now, the reason I am asking if I am mature beyond my years is because:

  1. My parents would have killed me for getting pregnant before I was 16
  2. I would have hated myself for getting pregnant at such a young age because I could not have provided for the baby or myself
  3. I would feel like I failed as a parent if my future child got pregnant at 15/16
  4. A child cannot have a child

My parents always told me to be careful, to follow the rules (Don’t have sex before 16) and I have never wanted to let my family down, I wanted something better from my life and so having a child before 21 never crossed my mind.
My parents always told me that if I was being sexually active that I should use many forms of protection. I mean it is not like there isn’t an array of options out there, but still a 15-year-old gets pregnant.

My parents told me that a child is hard work and that you should live your life before you basically give it all up for your child. I want a life and an education before I give it up for my children.

So am I just mature beyond my years in thinking that there is no way that I would have sex without protection in place? Am I mature beyond my years for thinking that children shouldn’t be having children?

I mean when my mother heard about this, she said “that it shows a lack of responsibility and maturity on both sides and how on earth is she going to survive and raise a child in the society in which we live at the moment? Children are expensive and the next 18 years of your life are theirs. I don’t condone abortion, but in a situation like that, it may be a thing to consider.”

My mother has told me things like that since I was little and shows like 16 and Pregnant or Teen Mom tell us that being pregnant and being a mum at a young age is so difficult that it shouldn’t be attempted. Babies aren’t something that you can play with for a few hours and hand over to someone else. They take money, time and effort. Basically kiss goodbye to sleep.

So am I just mature beyond my years?

About oddchildout

18 and at University. Good with computers, well I have to be when I work with them and getting a degree in them, I guess. I live at home with my parents and two sisters. Not much really, but I am the Oddchildout.
This entry was posted in Life in general and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Am I just mature beyond my years?

  1. click this says:

    I found something similar elsewhere and really found it helpful. Some more of this please! Thank you

  2. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it is really informative. I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  3. Awesome info and superbly written. Keep up the fantastic stuff!

  4. salutations from over the ocean. precise article I will return for more.

  5. click this says:

    I came here looking for something else, but this enlightened me regardless. Interesting stuff!

  6. Wow, superb blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is magnificent, let alone the content!. Thanks For Your article about Am I just mature beyond my years? | Keep Being Strong .

  7. Wow, amazing blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is wonderful, as well as the content!. Thanks For Your article about Am I just mature beyond my years? | Keep Being Strong .

  8. Pingback: My Homepage

  9. Pingback: Things you realise about your family when you’re not as mature as you should be. « My Present Self

  10. car accident says:

    Smartly said! My friends think you have worked excellently!

  11. Pingback: kombucha cultivation

  12. Pingback: reloj de pared

  13. Thanks like your Am I just mature beyond my years? | Keep Being Strong

  14. Pingback: homepage

  15. Pingback: Informationen über Koifutter

  16. Pingback: günstiges Hundefutter

Leave a Reply

