Wait for one and two come…and leaving secondary school behind

I swear I have heard the old saying that if you wait long enough for one thing, two will turn up and I am starting to seeing that in my life right about now.

I have waited so long for a job and when I get one, another turns up right behind it. I have the waitress job, which I told you all about, but now I also have a job as a writer for an online thing, not really sure what it is. I review things, but to be honest, I don’t know if I am ever going to do it really. I might keep it and see if I have any spare time to do it, but I highly doubt that I will because with my waitress job and school and family, I’m never really going to have the time.

It’s like, I have waited so long to have a class of people who are really nice and talk to you and are just like you that when I get it, I have about 3 or 4. I was always told that university would be the place that I really thrived, but I have only been there a day and I am really wondering why I didn’t leave my secondary school earlier. I was so worried that I would be the outcast, but I realised that people are all like me and so I feel better.

Being at University has made me realise that those years in secondary school, although they were like hell because the people were mean and more focused on their social status than school, were worth it to get me here. I am glad that I got out of there and as much as I miss a few certain people, I sort of wish I’d left earlier because the last year of my life has been the toughest and I shattered my leg so that tells you how much I hated year 13.

I want to take this opportunity, while I am talking about the horrendous year I just went through to tell you that even if someone hurts you like my history teacher hurt me (not physically, but mentally) then no matter how much you want to tell them to shove it, be the better person. My history teacher failed my coursework and hurt me to the point that now I completely hate history, I don’t want to go near it at all and it is sad, but I hate it.
Teachers think that they know everything, but in truth they don’t and that is because things change everyday. If my teacher ever reads this then I would like to say thank you, sir. Thank you for making me see how much I don’t need history because ICT is much more useful to me and my life. Thank you for making me see how much you hate to be yelled at, even when you are wrong and thank you for making me choose a course that I didn’t think about initially, but it is a course for people like me who know what they are talking about and for putting me on a course that can help me earn over £40,000 a year in my first year. SO yes, thank you sir and if I ever saw you again, I’d walk straight past you because the main two people who I would say a genuine thank you to for actually helping me, unlike you, are my ICT teacher and the reverend.

My ICT teacher was the best teacher you could ever ask for. He would go through my work with me. He’d email me if my coursework needed tweaking and he would do everything he could think about to make us remember our ICT work. Even sing to us. So thank you so much sir and it is because of you that I LOVE ICT. It is because of you that I got the highest in the class for my coursework and 113/120 for my exam.

The reverend was my mentor from year 7 – 10 and she was like a second mother to me to the point that now that I have left, she makes sure I email her all the time. I would not be as strong as I am without her and even when they changed my mentors, my mother still put her down as my mentor and if I had a problem or I was crying then I’d say 4 words ‘I want Mrs Kurk’ and that was it till she came to me. She was there when I needed her and she got me through the death of my grandfather and all the problems I had. So thank you for looking after a little 11-year-old and turning her into me.

The things that I will remember from my time at secondary school will be the friends I made, the teachers who stick with me because they were the best and they helped me like my old maths teacher who made me love algebra or my ICT teacher from year 9 – 13. It will be the memories I have like the boys in my class in year 11 when we all got mixed together making up a song while we played competitive rounders or my friends and I messing around in the music room. I will remember my friends and I hanging out in the playground when it was warm, trying to tan. I will remember my friends from year 9 when I was in year 7 and I will remember my friend making up dance moves to a song we listened to each day while we were on the train. The good things that I will take from school will be years 10 – 12, but year 13 I could have done without.

Life is about waiting and living in the moment. After I shattered my leg and my whole life was put on hold, I realised that you can’t plan very far in the future because things can change. I wanted to do Primary Education, but now I’m on a computer course. Live in the moment because you never know when the moment is going to change.

About oddchildout

18 and at University. Good with computers, well I have to be when I work with them and getting a degree in them, I guess. I live at home with my parents and two sisters. Not much really, but I am the Oddchildout.
This entry was posted in Life in general, School and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Wait for one and two come…and leaving secondary school behind

  1. click here says:

    hello from across the ocean I’m jenny I’m such a air head but I still particularly admired your work

  2. Excellent info and interestingly written. Keep up the excellent stuff!

  3. click here says:

    I found something like this elsewhere and really loved. Some more of this please! Thanks

  4. click this says:

    I found something like this elsewhere and really enjoyed. Some more of this please! Thanks very much

  5. like this says:

    hello from across the ocean I’m laura I’m such a blonde but I still really admired your blog

  6. This is funnily enough just the thing I’ve been looking for! Superb and thank you!

  7. auction says:

    Hi there, just became alerted to your blog through Google, and found that it is really informative. I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future. A lot of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  8. salutations from over the sea. excellent blog I will return for more.

  9. Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was searching for!

  10. I didnt look for this, but I love this, found it helpful! Keep up the likable work!

  11. Hey lovely from a teenage girlfan contunue the fab content

  12. Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I will be grateful if you continue this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  13. This is funnily enough just the thing I’ve been rummaging for! Excellent and thanks!

  14. Thanks a Lovely post!! ……………………..

  15. car accident says:

    I arrived expecting something else entirely, but this was great anyway. Interesting stuff.

  16. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive learn anything like this before. So good to find any individual with some authentic ideas on this subject. realy thanks for starting this up. this website is one thing that is needed on the net, someone with a little bit originality. helpful job for bringing one thing new to the internet!

  17. Thanks like your Wait for one and two come…and leaving secondary school behind | Keep Being Strong

Leave a Reply

