New school, new year, new hair

Begin today. Declare out loud to the universe that you are willing to let go of struggle and eager to learn through joy.

I have decided, out of the blue really, that I have been blonde for long enough (about 15 months) and so I am going to go back to a colour that I was for about 2 years, I’m going to go deep red. There are many reasons why I am going red instead of blonde:

  1. I can’t be asked to go and spend £80 on  re-dying my hair blonde
  2. Being blonde grows out fast
  3. My roots show through after about 6 weeks
  4. It would piss my nan off that I’m going red again
  5. Red goes better with my wardrobe

I guess in a way I just want a new me. I want a new everything and I am making sure of that by going to a new school, which makes it sort of a new year for me and I want to leave behind all the crap and bad things that I went through during my last year at secondary school to look on the bright side of going to university. I am going to enjoy it.

Changing up your appearance and the way that you perceive yourself can give you a real confidence boost. I want to go red to try to get my mind in a better mind set for school and I want to be a new me. I don’t want to be the sad little blonde girl who lost her granddad and went through Clearing to get a space at University. I want to be the spunky little red head who is good with computers and speaks her mind.

Changing something about yourself, it may not be your hair, it may be your eye colour thanks to contacts or it may even be getting a whole new wardrobe to spice up your life and give you that shot of confidence that you have missed.
If science can tell you something about the way we humans are it is that we are never satisfied and that is true. Don’t settle, unless it is for a partner, but don’t settle when it comes to how you look and changing it isn’t a bad thing. It can bring out very positive results.

I am now liking the polls on this blog and so let me ask you guys another question and I want you to answer this one, please:

When it comes to a new year at a new school, I vow that I am going to do things differently and I am going to be more involved in school activities because I am only going to be there once, right? In a way, getting rid of the blonde is me getting rid of the person I once was and it is a way for me to turn my back on everything and everyone who has done me wrong while I was blonde and to be honest I always did prefer my red head.

So, why not shake up your life come December or the beginning of a new school term? Or even just because you want to? Be different and be you. Don’t let people sway you because that is how I ended up blonde!
I decided to go blonde because my nan and aunt said that I would look better as a blonde, so to try to hold on to her love, but once I realised who she really was and that she didn’t care for anyone, but herself then I decided that I was going to stop being the person that they were trying to mould me in to and I was going to be ME.
I’m a gothic girl and I want to have my red hair back.

So embrace your inner self and change if you want to change. DO something fun and creative. DO something that you are going to be able to tell your children/grandchildren about. DO something that you want to do.

So I’m going to change. I’m going to go to a new school. I’m going to make new friends. I’m going to be starting a new year at university. I’m going to dye my hair red and make it new. I’m going to be new.

This is a new year. A new beginning. And things will change.

About oddchildout

18 and at University. Good with computers, well I have to be when I work with them and getting a degree in them, I guess. I live at home with my parents and two sisters. Not much really, but I am the Oddchildout.
This entry was posted in Me and my family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to New school, new year, new hair

  1. Pingback: Wait for one and two come…and leaving secondary school behind | Keep Being Strong

  2. click here says:

    Bonjour from overseas! This is just what I was searching for, and you did it well. Thank you

  3. love this says:

    Hey sweetie from a femalefan contunue the awesome work

  4. guildhall says:

    I didnt seek this, but I really like this, found it helpful! Keep up the great work!

  5. This writing has inspired me to start working on my own blog

  6. click this says:

    I came here thinking something else, but this enlightened me regardless. Entertaining stuff!

  7. baju bayi says:

    Wow, fantastic blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is great, let alone the content!. Thanks For Your article about New school, new year, new hair | Keep Being Strong .

  8. Virgie Yoss says:

    I simply want to mention I am beginner to weblog and truly savored your website. Most likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog post . You actually come with tremendous stories. Thanks a lot for revealing your web-site.

  9. Thanks like your New school, new year, new hair | Keep Being Strong

Leave a Reply

